Deviled Eggs

I love Deviled Eggs! I usually see them at potluck parties served as an appetizer. I’m not a fan of potlucks because the food table is typically a sea of sugary sweet treats and various kinds of pasta dishes that I cannot eat. So if I see deviled eggs at a party, I know I’m in luck: low-carb and guilt-free! I’ve never made these myself. They’re actually fairly simple to make. The hardest part is actually hard boiling the eggs. 🙂

There are many delicious recipes you can find online, this was one I made because I had the ingredients on hand.

RECIPE

  • 6 eggs, hard cooked and peeled
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon or yellow mustard
  • 1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of dill
  • 1/8 teaspoon of salt
  • fresh ground black pepper
  • paprika (optional for garnish)
  1. Cut eggs in half. Arrange egg whites cut side up on a serving plate.
  2. Put the yolks in a small mixing bowl. Mash yolks with fork then stir in mayonnaise, mustard, and vinegar. Mash and stir all ingredients together well.
  3. Add spices and salt, then taste to add desired amount of pepper.
  4. Spoon a little bit of the mixture into each egg white half, dividing mixture as evenly as possible between the eggs. Or put in a frosting bag with a fancy decorative tip to fill each egg white half.
  5. Sprinkle eggs with paprika if desired.
  6. Serve immediately or refrigerate until ready to serve.

8 thoughts on “Deviled Eggs

  1. I LOVE deviled eggs! We recently went to Susan Feniger’s restaurant called The Street in LA where she serves “Angry Eggs”–deviled eggs with Malaysian hot chile relish topped with green sriracha. Delicious! Definitely inspired me to try some twists on the usual, particularly to kick up the spice level.

    One tip I might add is for dealing with farm-fresh eggs. They have the best yolks, but they’re VERY difficult to peel after boiling. I’ve found that a tablespoon or two of vinegar in the boiling water helps tremendously. It might even help with supermarket eggs, though those aren’t generally too hard to peel.

  2. Wow! I don’t think I can do “Angry Eggs.” I’m a big chicken when it comes to spicy. Maybe I can do “Slightly Annoyed Eggs.” 🙂 Thanks for the tip, Sharon! I’ll be adding vinegar from now on.

  3. Adding a can of lump crab meat, (not imitation, has lots of carbs!) and scallions puts a new twist on regular deviled eggs. Even Non-LCHF’ers LOVED them!!

  4. Oooh! That sounds good. I never thought of adding lump crab. Thanks for that tasty tidbit.

  5. Pingback: Hard-Cooked Eggs | Guilt-Free Goodies

  6. Pingback: 40 Low Carb Thanksgiving Recipes - The Miracle Momma

  7. If you have a lot of eggs to fill and no frosting bag, just use a plastic bag, twist the back, and snip a corner off. This is my potluck and block party standby!

  8. Pingback: Diabetic Friendly Thanksgiving Dinner Recipes | A Listly List

Leave a comment