Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

When was the last time you’ve eaten a Nestle Toll House cookie fresh out of the oven with the gooey center and the crisp outside? I can tell you that this Classic Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe is the closest I’ve gotten to that nostalgic memory. It’s gluten-free and uses coconut palm sugar to get that crispness. My husband and kids think they’re the real thing. They can’t tell that they’re one of my guilt-free goodies!

RECIPE

  • 1 /2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 3/4 cup almond flour, firmly packed
  • 1/4 coconut flour, firmly packed
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • One (1) 3.5 oz bar of 72% or higher dark chocolate, chopped
  • Optional: 1/2 c. of nuts
  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F.
  2. Combine butter, palm sugar, flours, baking soda and salt.
  3. Stir in chocolate pieces.
  4. Scoop batter onto sheet trays.
  5. Bake for 9-11 minutes until golden brown.

(Makes 18-24 cookies)

8 thoughts on “Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. No eggs–interesting. I wonder if they still come out well replacing the melted butter with coconut oil to make them vegan (I often swap that out for butter to make lactose-free recipes). I may have to experiment. They look delicious!

  2. I know, no eggs! It’s amazing. I’m sure coconut oil will do just fine. You can also use grapeseed oil (same amount). I have interchanged those 3 ingredients depending on my mood or what’s in my pantry.

  3. Can I use agave syrup or honey instead of palm sugar? Do I need to increase flour?

  4. Susan – You can definitely use agave nectar or honey in place of coconut palm sugar, you will get a different consistency. It won’t be “crisp.” It will be more like a scone. I have not tried this recipe using agave nectar so I am not sure how to adjust the flour. Let me know if you try it. Or you can try the scookies recipe I have previously posted (https://mamaseacat.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/scookies/).

  5. As always, great result from this recipe. These are the best !! (especially with some whipped cream on top)
    I used about half the sugar and they were amazing. Thanks so much 🙂

  6. Youre welcome! It’s my favorite too. I could eat the whole batch myself. 🙂

  7. These were delicious! I added vanilla extract and an egg because it looked a bit crumbly.

Leave a Reply

