Pasta Alternative: Spaghetti Squash

This was the first time I’ve eaten Spaghetti Squash. It doesn’t exactly taste like pasta but it is a pretty good substitute (gluten-free and lower carb). The first bite took me by surprise because it’s sweet. I wasn’t expecting that. By the time I was half way done with my meal, I didn’t even notice that I was eating squash instead of spaghetti, especially if you load on the cheese. You can pretend it’s really pasta you’re eating. Best part… you don’t feel full like you’re gonna bust out of your pants! 🙂

How to Cook Spaghetti Squash by Microwave

  1. Poke about 5-6 times with a fork.
  2. Cook on high for about 12 minutes (rotating every 3 minutes) or until the skin gives.
  3. Let cool. Remove seeds. Scrape spaghetti with a fork.

Below is what happened to my spaghetti squash because I failed to check to see if the squash was tender enough to open by hand. BAM! 🙂

How to Cook Spaghetti Squash in the Oven

  1. Pre-heat oven at 375˚ F.
  2. Poke the squash about 5-6 times with a fork and place in baking dish.
  3. Cook for about 1 to 1-1/2 hours or until flesh is tender.
  4. Let cool. Remove seeds. Scrape spaghetti with a fork.
6 thoughts on “Pasta Alternative: Spaghetti Squash

  1. I love spaghetti squash! I like it simply with butter and some grated mizithra cheese. MMMM.

  2. I love mizithra cheese!!! It’s been a while since I’ve had it. I forgot all about that cheese.

  3. That is a funny picture, but you have my sympathies cleaning out that microwave…. I enjoy spaghetti squash and usually halve it and bake it in the oven, cut side down, on an oiled foil-covered baking sheet. That being said, sometimes those squashies are murder to cut it half, so I appreciate knowing you can just throw them in the oven like a potato!! Thank you for posting!

  4. Pingback: Italian Stuffed Spaghetti Squash | Guilt-Free Goodies

  5. Pingback: Gluten-Free Turkey Meatballs | Guilt-Free Goodies

Leave a Reply

