Caveman Crunch Cereal

I have been avoiding eating breakfast cereal for years since there’s always too many carbs in them and it’s always sweetened with sugar. Well, breakfast came alive again for me when I found this recipe called Caveman Crunch Cereal on fastpaleo.com. (I made a couple of adjustments so I’m not sure how “paleo” this is now.) This cereal is full of nuts and fiber, and lightly sweetened with agave nectar so it’s guilt-free for me. Best part… My kitchen smelled delicious while this was baking in the oven. I couldn’t wait to eat some topped with coconut milk! So not only is this the perfect cereal, it’s also a great snack when you want something chocolately for your sweet tooth.

RECIPE

  • 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 2 cups slivered or sliced almond (or 1 cup almonds and 1 cup old-fashioned oats)
  • 1/4 cup of flaxseed
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup grapeseed oil (or any other oil)
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 325˚ F.
  2. Mix all dry ingredients together in a large bowl with a spatula.
  3. Mix all the wet ingredients in a small bowl until well combined.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, coating the nuts thoroughly.
  5. Spread mixture evenly on to a tinfoil lined baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes then pull it out and mix it up with a fork. Then bake for another 5 minutes.
  7. Let the pan cool which allows it to get crunchy. Break it all up as you remove it from the foil and store in an airtight container.
  8. Enjoy with your favorite type of milk or eat as is.

3 thoughts on “Caveman Crunch Cereal

  1. I just made this tonight because I have missed having granola, and it is really yummy! I did add a couple of pinches of salt and a little extra cinnamon and sweetener and only had one cup of slivered almonds in the house, so I rough chopped a cup of raw whole almonds to make up for it. I used coconut oil because I just love it for almost everything. Anyway, the slivered almonds and seeds make the texture like oats and really provide a true cereal experience! I liked it plain, but I wanted to try it with coconut milk to see how that was…Delicious! I so appreciate your posting this recipe, thank you!

  2. Yay, Heidy! I add extra cinnamon and cocoa powder myself. You can really add almost any kind of nut or grain to this. I just love it. I never run out. As soon as my supply is running low, I make a new batch. 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoy it too.

Leave a Reply

