Coconut Palm Sugar

Coconut Palm Sugar has been my sweetenerr of choice since I discovered that it is low in the glycemic index (GI) at 35, lower than apples with a GI: 38. Amazing, right?

  • Low GI = 55 or less
  • Medium GI = 56 – 69
  • High GI = 70 or more

The taste is similar to brown sugar with a touch of caramel and butterscotch notes. So when a recipe calls for brown sugar, I substitute coconut palm sugar instead (1 cup = 1 cup) then figure out with the next batch whether I need to adjust the amount up or down. Usually it has been right on.

I have only seen the green bag (original flavor) but last month at Whole Foods, I found Fleur De Sel and Vanilla-flavored coconut palm sugar! Hmm… wonder what I can do with them?

2 thoughts on “Coconut Palm Sugar

  1. You can also find coconut sugar in cake form at many Asian supermarkets. Might be harder to break up, but it’s probably cheaper than getting it at Whole Paycheck!

Leave a Reply

