Nutella Cookies

One day when I was missing Nutella (and too lazy to make my own homemade guilt-free version), I went in my pantry to look for some peanut butter or almond butter that I can dip some pieces of 85% dark chocolate into. I discovered a jar of Kettle hazelnut butter in the back that I probably bought at my last trip to Whole Foods. It was pure hazelnut butter. No sugar-added. I got inspired. I took my 85% dark chocolate and a double-boiler, and melted the chocolate. Then I added the hazelnut butter to the chocolate. Voila! Instant Nutella. But I didn’t stop there. I made them into Nutella Cookies.

Making these gluten-free cookies were a pain because they’re very delicate and they come out more intact when you use a Silpat liner vs. parchment paper. (None of them transferred into perfect circles thus the photo of the cookie still intact on the parchment-lined cookie sheet :)). Try to transfer the cookies into a cooled plate or just throw the whole cookie sheet in the refrigerator, then after a couple hours of cooling, these cookies are THE BEST! I’m talking chewy, crispy, chocolatey good! So good that I was eating them not only for dessert but as a snack, breakfast, lunch… 🙂

RECIPE

  • 1 jar (11.5 oz) Kettle Hazelnut Butter
  • 1 bar of 70% (or higher) dark chocolate bar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup of coconut palm sugar
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp of almond extract (optional)
  • 1/2 cup of macadamia nuts for decoration
  1. In a baine-marie, melt chocolate bar. Add in hazelnut butter and mix until smooth. Let cool for 30 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven at 350˚F.
  3. Transfer Nutella into a medium bowl. Add egg, sugar, salt, baking soda and almond extract and stir until the mixture turns into batter.
  4. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto Silpat-lined cookie sheet.
  5. Place a macadamia nut on top of each mound.
  6. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.
  7. Let cool on cookie sheet for 5 minutes and try to transfer them onto a plate then cool in the refrigerator for 2 hours. Or you can put the whole cookie sheet into the refrigerator and let cool for 2 hours.
Leave a Reply

