Caramel Sauce

I did it (Thanks to my cousin in Switzerland who made the many attempts to perfect it)! My Christmas present to you! I made some gluten-free Caramel Sauce. Oh, how I missed you on my desserts! I wouldn’t say this was completely guilt-free. Definitely indulge but eat moderately. It’s sooooo good over some Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream or Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream. And sometimes I sprinkle a bit of rock salt to get my salted caramel fix. Mmmmm!

RECIPE

  • 1/4 cup of agave nectar
  • 2 tbsp of heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup of butter (1 tbsp. and the rest cup up into 1 tsp. portions)
  • pinch of salt
  1. Combine agave, cream and 1 tbsp of butter in a sauce pan and cook over medium-high heat.  Let it cook for 10 minutes, stirring CONSTANTLY!!!
  2. Take it off the heat and keep stirring to cool it down. Whatever you do, don’t leave it alone because agave burns just like sugar does when it is too hot. It will brown and look just like caramel. Once it starts to cool down, it will thicken. (When it’s cold, it will solidify. You don’t want it to solidify.)
  3. Add the rest of the butter one teaspoon at a time until it stays at a sauce consistency. Cool for a bit and serve over ice cream. You can also store this in the refrigerator. Just place in an airtight glass jar. It will solidify. When you’re ready to use it, just place the jar in a warm water bath until it liquifies. (DO NOT MICROWAVE! I made that mistake and the whole thing separated into clarified butter and brown goo. No bueno, people. Not good.)
2 thoughts on “Caramel Sauce

  1. Can a sugar-alcohol, thats good for baking, like erythritol or xylitol be used in lieu of agave nectar? Im pretty much all sugar free, including agave nectar and wondering if ‘sugar’ is in fact the key to any caramel sauce, low carb or otherwise.

  2. I don’t use erythritol or xylitol so I can’t say for sure if you can use it in place of agave nectar. I would imagine that “sugar” is the key to making caramel.

Leave a Reply

