Chocolate Banana Cupcakes with Whipped Banana Frosting

I’m on a chocolate and banana kick lately. I can’t seem to get enough bananas these days. Maybe my body is in need of potassium thus the craving. I found these Chocolate Banana Cupcakes from Elana’s Gluten-Free Cupcakes book. I made this dessert for my parents and in-laws when they came for dinner. They were hesitant at first because I told them these were “guilt-free.” But who can resist chocolate? I even served them up with a scoop of Coconut Vanilla Ice Cream and dusted the top with some cocoa powder. So after they polished off their plates, I found my Dad in my kitchen making a second serving for himself. He even tried to “dust” it with cocoa powder himself but it was more like an avalanche stormed his dessert plate!

CUPCAKE RECIPE

  • 1/2 cup of coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 2-3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  1. Preheat oven at 350˚F. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with paper liners.
  2. In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk eggs and agave nectar.
  4. Stir wet ingredients in the flour mixture until thoroughly combined, then fold in the mashed bananas.
  5. Fill each muffin cup with 1/4 cup of batter.
  6. Bake for 18-22 minutes.
  7. Cool for an hour, then frost with Whipped Banana Frosting.

WHIPPED BANANA FROSTING

  • 1 cup of heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 2-3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  1. Whip the cream and agave in a mixer until you get stiff peaks.
  2. Mix in banana and whip for 20-30 seconds.
  3. Use immediately or store in a the refrigerator for 3 hours and use before the bananas turn brown.

Leave a Reply

