Kale Chips

Yes, that’s right. Kale Chips. I read about them on SimplySugarAndGlutenFree.com. I was a little hesitant because first of all, it’s kale (yuck!) and secondly, it’s kale (bleuch!). I’ve never even eaten kale before in my life. But the more I thought about it and read how simple they are to make, the more I convinced myself to try them.

The first batch I made (Yeah, I made more!), I ate the whole thing to myself. They are surprisingly crunchy and have the similar texture as those seaweed snacks. I felt like a pig chowing down on every last leaf but then I remembered, it’s kale. It’s healthy. I can eat pounds of kale and still come out winning. It’s a nutritious leafy green vegetable, full of vitamin A, vitamin K and iron.

The second batch I made, I ate to myself again. I tried to share but my kids just ran away from them. 🙂 The third batch I made, my husband ate most of them and told me to buy more kale tomorrow. I hope you’ll like these guilt-free snacks as much as my husband and I do. We’re going to be adding this to our Thanksgiving table this year. Very low in carbs and gluten-free, this is great as a side dish or to eat by itself.

(FYI: I discovered that these are sold at health food stores for about $7 for a small bag. That’s outrageous when they’re so easy to make, and a bag of kale at Trader Joe’s only costs $1.99!)

RECIPE

  • fresh kale
  • good quality extra virgin olive oil
  • kosher salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Trim kale and rip into chip-sized pieces.  The ‘chips’ shrink slightly in the oven so I make them a little bigger.  Wash and dry kale in a salad spinner.  If you don’t have a salad spinner, fill a large bowl with water, drop the kale in, swirl it around, and then dry the kale on paper towels.
  3. In a salad bowl, toss kale with olive oil and salt.
  4. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil for easy clean-up.  Arrange kale in a single layer. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until kale is crispy.
Leave a Reply

