Jasmine Tea Soy Latte with Sugar-Free Coconut Syrup

One day, I went into my local Starbucks and saw on their colorful handwritten sign: “Try a Jasmine Tea Latte with Coconut Syrup!” That sounded absolutely divine! So I inquired with the barista if it came sugar-free. She assured me it did so I ordered one. WOW! It was amazingly delicious! Is this really sugar-free? So I went back the next day because I was hooked. I ordered the same thing: “Jasmine Tea Soy Latte with Sugar-Free Coconut Syrup, please.” The (different) barista said, “Sorry. We don’t have sugar-free coconut syrup.”

“You mean, you ran out?”

“No, we don’t carry sugar-free coconut syrup.”

My face dropped. I was very disappointed. But mainly, I was upset that yesterday’s barista could have killed me if I were diabetic (which I’m not). So BEWARE when ordering. You never know what you’re really getting.

After that experience, I decided to make my new favorite hot beverage at home to ensure that I use the right ingredients. I purchased a box of Peets Jasmine Fancy tea and drove by BevMo who carries Torani sugar-free coconut syrup (sweetened with Splenda). Now I can make my own sugar-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, guilt-free latte any time I want.

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Brew your tea like usual. Use 2 bags if you want a strong Jasmine flavor.
  • Heat 1/2 cup of soy milk (or almond, coconut, hemp, rice, etc.) in a mug.
  • Once milk is hot, pour 2 oz. of coconut syrup then use a milk frother to whip your milk.
  • Pour tea and milk together in one glass. Enjoy with an Almond Butter Banana Nut Muffin.
2 thoughts on “Jasmine Tea Soy Latte with Sugar-Free Coconut Syrup

  1. Sound yummy! Thanks for letting me know about the sugar-free coconut syrup…I’m gonna buy that for my coffee. I’ve been using sugar-free caramel, but I’ve been wanting to change it up 🙂

  2. BevMo has A LOT of sugar-free Torani syrups to choose from. They even have the “simple sugar” one that you can use to make cocktails. Mmmm!

Leave a Reply

