Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins


A few months ago, I read somewhere that you can substitute quinoa flour for all-purpose flour (a cup for a cup). That little bit of trivia stuck in my mind for a while. I even bought about 2 cups of quinoa flour at Whole Foods Market in hopes that one day I’ll get to try the substitution. Lo and behold, I found this recipe that I had been using as a bookmark in my Betty Crocker cookbook for years! I actually remember cutting it out of a newspaper and sticking it in between the pages. I don’t know why I kept it for such a long time. Good thing I did because these Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins are delicious! This recipe uses all-purpose flour and sugar so I made it guilt-free by making it gluten-free, lower carb, and sugar-free. (It’s also good enough to eat as a dessert cupcake!)

RECIPE

  • 1 cup quinoa flour
  • 6 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 2/3 cup Stevia in the Raw (or 6 tbsp of Stevia extract powder)
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup or 3 extra ripe mashed bananas*
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 stick of melted butter or 1/4 cup of grapeseed oil
  • 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • ½ cup dark chocolate chips (or a chopped up a bar of 72% cacao.)
  • ½ cup chopped pecans (optional)
  1. Preheat oven at 350˚F.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine quinoa flour, flaxseed, Stevia, baking powder and salt.
  3. With a mixer, combine bananas, egg, butter/oil, cream and vanilla.
  4. Slowly add dry ingredients to the banana mixture with a heavy spoon or on low speed. Do not over mix.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips and pecans.
  6. Fill each foil-lined muffin cup or greased muffin pan about 3/4 full.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees 25-30 minutes.
  8. Cool and eat!

* You can add a tbsp of agave nectar to your mashed bananas to add sweetness if they aren’t ripe enough.

(Makes 12 muffins)

Leave a Reply

