“Compost” Cookies


I went to the beach with some friends and was inspired by these cookies my friend, Kim, baked for the kids. She called them Compost Cookies. “Did I hear you right? Did you say compost cookies?” I’ve never heard of them but they looked good. It’s basically a cookie base with a mishmash of random ingredients tossed in: chocolate chips, raisins, potato chips, pretzels, corn flakes, etc. I had to try a little bite so that I knew what I’m dealing with here. Wow! It was an explosion of sweet vs. salt having a party in my mouth. So I had to come up with my own guilt-free version.

RECIPE

  • 2 cups of any nut butter (I used peanut butter and almond butter.)
  • 1/2 cup of coconut palm sugar or 3 tbsp of Stevia powder
  • 2 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 bar of dark chocolate (72% cocoa or greater), chopped
  • 1/2 cup of chopped pecans or other nuts (optional)
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 cup of rolled oatmeal
  • and anything else you’d like.
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together first 5 ingredients until blended. Stir in chocolate, nuts, coconut, oatmeal, etc.
  3. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto parchment-lined or greased cookie sheets and flatten to form cookie shape . (I chose to make hamburger-patty sizes!)
  4. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until lightly browned.
  5. Let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes. Remove to a wire rack and let cool for 15 more minutes.
  6. Store in the refrigerator.
2 thoughts on ““Compost” Cookies

Leave a Reply

