Tahini Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I guess I’m on a cookie kick lately. I was intrigued about tahini from my last cookie encounter (Chocolate Peanut Butter and Tahini Cookies) and stumbled upon a recipe that called for cinnamon and oatmeal mixed with tahini. Sounds like a breakfast cookie to me! So I played around to make these Tahini Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies low in sugar, low in carbs, vegan and dairy-free so I can call it a guilt-free goodie.

I love the texture of these cookies. They’re crumbly and toasty. Pair it with a tall glass of cold soy milk or almond milk for a delightful snack!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of tahini (or any nut butter)
  • 1/2 cup agave
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats or old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, pecans (any nuts)
  • chopped up bar of dark chocolate

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease cookie sheets or use parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the tahini, agave and cinnamon. Mix in walnut, chocolate and oats until well blended. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about 2 inches apart.
  3. Bake for 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are slightly brown. Cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes before removing to wire racks to cool completely.
4 thoughts on “Tahini Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. These cookies are really mounds of granola. Very sweet to be low carb. They taste good, but they never formed into real cookies, and they are really crumbly when picked up and eaten.

  2. So sorry that they didn’t form into cookies for you. When I have made these, they stay rather solid. In fact, they stay the shape of the cookie scooper. 🙂 Other times I’ve made these, I scoop them, then flatten them down so they are more of a cookie shape. The sweetness depends on the combination of agave nectar and chocolate you use. I like to use 85-90% cocoa chocolate bars so that they’re not too sweet and balances with the sweetness of the agave.

  3. I LOVE these cookies! I just moved and have not unpacked all of my pots and pans and didn’t have a cookie sheet handy so I used one of my glass cassarole dishes and made these as cookie bars. I put the entire recipe in and used a spoon to smooth it out. Cooked it for about 15 minutes, let them cool and then cut into bars. Okay, I cheated and had one right out of the oven and it did crumble, but it was hot. Once I had the patience to wait, the rest of the pan was wonderful and very easy to cut into bars.

    I used 1/2/c carob choc chips that were sweetened with Malt and it added just enough sweet / tart to make them sooooooo very yummy! I am so glad I found this recipe. SIMPLE!

  4. I love these cookies too! I’m so glad they work as bars. And I’m glad you were able to use this as a base and add your own ingredients.

Leave a Reply

