Coconut Vanilla Ice Cream

I love everything about coconut! I love its flavor, its aroma, its texture, and it always reminds me of Hawaii or Thai food and makes me wish I was on vacation. I also am digging coconut palm sugar as my sweetener these days. It’s like all the goodness of sugar and low in the glycemic index. Nirvana! I love sprinkling it on top of steel cut oatmeal or Greek yogurt to give it enough sweetness.

Since I’m not going anywhere tropical, I’ll just make this gluten-free Coconut Vanilla Ice Cream. This is, if I may quote my kids’ favorite show The Upside Down Show, “…delicious, delectable, and DEEEE-light-FUL!”

RECIPE

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 cup milk (Vit. D, low-fat, your choice)
  • ½ cup of coconut palm sugar
  • 3 tsp. of vanilla extract
  • a pinch of salt
  1. Heat in a pot until sugar is melted.
  2. Cool for at least an hour on the stove top or longer in the refrigerator.
  3. Place in your ice cream maker per instructions.
  4. Top with toasted shredded coconut*. (That truly adds another dimension!)

Toasted Shredded Coconut

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F.
  2. Place a 1/2 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut in a pie tin or cookie sheet.
  3. Heat in the oven for about 3-5 minutes. (Check often as the coconut burns fast!)
  4. Toss and mix to get the underside of the coconut toasted, too.
  5. Heat for another 3-5 minutes.
6 thoughts on “Coconut Vanilla Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Brownies | Guilt-Free Goodies

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Banana Cupcakes with Whipped Banana Frosting | Guilt-Free Goodies

  3. Pingback: Blueberry and Pear Pecan Crumble | Guilt-Free Goodies

  4. Pingback: One-Minute Chocolate Cake | Guilt-Free Goodies

  5. No need for milk, for those with dairy sensitivities. Just use more coconut milk and add xanthan gum to thicken…1/2 teaspoon should be plenty.

  6. Pingback: Crustless Pecan Tarts | Guilt-Free Goodies

Leave a Reply

