Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Finally, a guilt-free cookie that tastes like a REAL cookie! I LOVE THESE COOKIES! I made them 3 times already because they’re so delicious and taste like the REAL THING! You know… crisp on the outside. Chewy on the inside. (And I owe my Swiss cousin a whole lotta something for sharing this recipe!)

While shopping at Whole Foods one day, I came across a package of coconut palm sugar. It looks like brown sugar and has a butterscotch flavor. And to my surprise, the package said “low glycemic index = 35!!!” WOW! I had to try it. I used coconut palm sugar to make these Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies and all I gotta say is _____________! (I’m seriously speechless.) I ate 2 cookies fresh out of the oven. I could have eaten more but didn’t want to push my luck. I stood on the scale the next morning and Phew! No weight gain. Success!

(These cookies are low-carb, gluten-free and dairy-free!)

RECIPE

  • 1 cup unsalted almond butter, stirred well
  • 1/2 cup of coconut palm sugar (or sucanat* or raw turbinado sugar*)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 bar of dark chocolate (72% cocoa or greater), chopped
  • 1/2 cup of chopped pecans or other nuts (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together first 5 ingredients until blended. Stir in chocolate.
  3. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto parchment-lined baking sheets.
  4. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until lightly browned.
  5. Let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes. Remove to a wire rack and let cool for 15 more minutes.

(* Check the glycemic index on these sweeteners. I don’t know if they fall under “low.”)

One thought on “Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

