Low-Carb Hamburger Bun

It’s summertime and who doesn’t love a barbeque with the FamBam? We love grilling burgers and hotdogs out in our backyard, especially when you just don’t have time to prepare a gourmet meal for lunch or dinner. I can usually just eat the hamburger by itself with a side salad or grilled veggies, but sometimes I want a bun! Something to hold my juicy burger and melted cheese and sink my teeth into. I found this recipe online for a Low-Carb Hamburger Bun. Totally guilt-free! It hits the spot and is very filling. I couldn’t even finish the bread and ended up just eating the rest of my hamburger by itself. This is also perfect for other sandwiches as well.

RECIPE (for 1 bun)

2 T melted butter
1/2 pinch salt
1 egg
4 T flax seed meal
1/2 tsp baking powder

Mix all ingredients in a microwave safe bowl.
Nuke for 1 minute (or until center is set). It will billow up in the bowl.
Leave in the bowl for another minute then turn it out on a cooling rack. Let cool.
Slice in half and make your burger as usual.

9 thoughts on “Low-Carb Hamburger Bun

  1. Pingback: Eggplant Chips | Guilt-Free Goodies

  2. This is the BEST bread replacement I have tried. So easy, quick to make and has a great texture and taste. Thankyou so much for this recipe. I’ve tried a few similar which were OK, but this one is perfect.

  3. After slicing, I toasted this ‘bread’ too and it was great. My next challenge is to find a larger dish so I can make a slice big enough to fit into my toastie-maker…..grilled cheese sandwiches again yayyyy
    Do you think it would be possible to use coconut oil instead of butter? I really want to start adding coconut oil into my diet.
    BTW: I also tried your choc cupcakes and they were fantastic. They have been the only thing I have successfully made with coconut flour, so thanks so much for the recipes.

  4. Excellent, Tracy! You should try the flaxseed focaccia recipe. You get more bread and you cut them into square slices so easier to make into grilled cheese sammies. I haven’t tried using coconut oil instead of butter. I think it will turn out the same. Give it a try and let me know. Thanks!

    (PS. I love coconut flour too. I prefer that over almond flour for baked goods.)

  5. I tried this with coconut oil and it turned out just fine, although I’m not as keen on the “coconutty” taste as I am the original butter version. Texture and everything was perfect though, probably good for a sweet version….it was screaming for jam and cream!
    Will definately try the focaccia. I have tried another version which was OK, not great, just OK. Given the success of your recipes so far, I have high hopes and am looking forward to trying yours.

  6. That was fast. Thanks for letting me know. You can also try grapeseed oil. It has no flavor.

  7. I just tried it now – golden flaxseed meal – I will work out the calorie and carb count to see whether this will be a regular. Taste wise, it’s just lovely! Thanks for taking the time to put these recipes out there.

  8. Pingback: Morning Muffin in a Mug | Guilt-Free Goodies

Leave a Reply

