Chocolate Peanut Butter and Tahini Cookies

I found a jar of tahini butter at the new Fresh & Easy Neighborhood Market that just recently opened near me. I don’t know why I “had to have it” but I’ve heard good things and I bought it. I figured I’d find a recipe online for a delicious guilt-free treat. I didn’t. All the recipes I found were packed with brown sugar, white sugar or wheat flour. Boo! So I made up my own: Chocolate Peanut Butter and Tahini Cookies. (These are low-carb, gluten-free, sugar-free, vegan, and wheat-free!)

We know that chocolate and peanut butter tastes great together. What I didn’t know was that tahini has a bitter flavor, but it’s okay. It’s still good. Tahini mixed with chocolate brings out the richness of the dark chocolate taste. So in my book, tahini and chocolate make a wonderful combination, complementing each other’s distinct flavors. Yay! These have the same texture as my Peanut Butter Stevia cookies so they are delicate and crumbly, but oh-so-much better because it’s got chocolate! 🙂

RECIPE

  • 1 cup of peanut butter
  • 1 cup of tahini butter
  • 4 tbsp. of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 tbsp. of Stevia Extract powder
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • Optional: 1/2 cup of 72% dark chocolate* chips or chop up a bar of chocolate and toss it in the mix.
    (*Adding this will no longer make these cookies sugar-free or vegan.)
  1. Preheat oven at 350˚F.
  2. In a bowl, mix peanut butter and tahini butter together with a spatula until well combined.
  3. Pour in cocoa powder, Stevia and vanilla.
  4. Add eggs. Keep stirring until the mixture looks like cookie dough. (It will appear to be runny but keep mixing.)
  5. Roll into 1-inch balls and place cookies two inches apart on greased sheet or parchment-paper-lined cookie sheet.
  6. Make a criss-cross design with a fork.
  7. Bake for 12 minutes.
  8. Refrigerate before serving. And be gentle as they are fragile.

(Makes 24 cookies.)

One thought on “Chocolate Peanut Butter and Tahini Cookies

  1. Pingback: Tahini Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies | Guilt-Free Goodies

Leave a Reply

