Scookies!

“What the heck is a Scookie?” you ask. It’s a scone and a cookie. Kinda like leggings + jeans = Jeggings. Brad Pitt + Angelina Jolie = Brangelina. Anyway… I digress.

I have been wanting a cookie—a guilt-free, healthy, chocolatey-gooey cookie—then I found this recipe on HeatherEatsAlmondButter.com. (Have I told you that I “heart” her?) Her recipe didn’t call for nuts, but since I’m nuts over nuts, I threw in 1/4 cup of pecans in the mix. Scrumptious! The best part of this recipe is that it makes a lot of scookies, like, 24 of them! (Another reason I love Heather.) So with 24 scookies per recipe, I don’t have to hide these from my kids and my husband who claim these are the best-tasting healthy cookies I’ve ever made!

So would you eat this for breakfast because it’s technically a scone? Or would you strictly eat this as a dessert or a snack?

RECIPE

2 1/2 cups blanched almond flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup agave nectar
2 large eggs (allow to warm to room temperature prior to use)
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 bar of dark chocolate (72% or higher) chopped into chunks. (I used Lindt 85%.)
1/4 cup of chopped pecans, or any other nut (optional)

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350℉.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the almond flour, salt, and baking soda.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together the coconut oil, agave nectar, eggs, and vanilla.
  4. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet mixture a little at a time until thoroughly combined, and then fold in chocolate chunks and nuts.
  5. Drop the batter using a mini ice-cream scoop, two inches apart on 2 Silpat or parchment paper lined baking sheets.
  6. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until golden brown or a toothpick inserted into the center of a scookie comes out clean.
  7. Allow to cool for 30 minutes on the baking sheets before serving.
One thought on “Scookies!

  1. Pingback: Ice Cream Scookie Sandwich | Guilt-Free Goodies

Leave a Reply

