Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream

Here’s an interesting find: Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream. I found it on Elana’s Pantry. It’s low-carb, gluten-free, dairy-free and uses agave nectar. When I made this, I remember posting “My family and I are eating low-carb, gluten-free, dairy-free vanilla ice cream. And it’s vegan, too! Mmmm…” as my status update on Facebook. My friends commented with “What’s it made of? Air?” or “Why are you punishing your kids?” Haha! Yes, I know. Sounds ridiculous. I didn’t know the mixture of cashews and water is a dairy substitute for ice cream. I’m a cashew fan so I figured this would be a nutty treat.

If you make this ice cream, you have to:

  1. LOVE CASHEWS because it is gritty and you can taste the cashew flavor.
  2. HAVE AN ICE CREAM MAKER or else it just freezes as cashew slush.

After 20 minutes in the ice cream maker, I did my usual family taste test:

  • Son, age 2: Mum! Yum!
  • Daughter, age 6: Uh… I thought you said this was ice cream.
  • Husband, age old: Mmm… Is that really one of your special foods? Tastes like maple nut ice cream! I could eat that everyday as long as you don’t tell me what’s really in it. (Just for that comment you’re not getting any more ice cream, buddy!)

So here’s what’s really in it…

RECIPE
1 cup raw cashews
2 cups water
¼ cup agave nectar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 pinch salt
Optional: For an extra creamy texture, I added a 13.5 oz can of coconut milk.

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend on high speed.
  2. Pour mixture into an ice cream maker according to instructions.
  3. Serve.
2 thoughts on “Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Caramel Sauce | Guilt-Free Goodies

Leave a Reply

