Almond Butter Banana Nut Muffins

I found this guilt-free goodie, Almond Butter Banana Nut Muffins from this site (Thanks, Anthony!) which led me to HeatherEatsAlmondButter.com. (I adore this site because I do enjoy almond butter and Heather has some kickin’ recipes! You must read her amazing success story.)

By the time I post this blog, I’ve already made these muffins TWICE! (Yes, they’re that good.) They’re tasty yet not too sweet – just enough sweetness to call this a muffin vs. a cupcake. The muffins are dense and that’s because they’re packed with wholesome ingredients. So not only are they delicious, they’re nutritious, as well! My favorite part of this muffin is that although you’ve got all the healthy goodness going on in it, there’s a little burst of chocolate in every bite. Mmmm! For an extra protein boost, you can also smear the top with all-natural peanut butter. Now that’s decadent!

This recipe makes 15 cupcakes (YEAH!!!). I store them in the fridge so when I don’t have time to eat breakfast (or sometimes lunch), I can grab one of these “HEAB” muffins and I’m out the door. Keeps me full until my next meal.

RECIPE

  • 3 ripe mashed bananas
  • ¼ cup almond butter or your favorite nut/seed butter of choice
  • 1/3 cup Stevia in the Raw
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 ½ cups oat flour (I pulsed 2 cups steel-cut oats in my food processor. What a workout! I suggest you buy oat flour or pulse rolled oats instead.)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt (omit if using salted nut butter)
  • ½ cup dark chocolate chips (I chopped up a bar of 85% Lindt dark chocolate.)
  • ½ cup chopped pecans
  1. In a large bowl, mix first 5 ingredients until creamy.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together oat flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Slowly add dry ingredients to the banana mixture stirring to combine.
  4. Stir in chocolate chips and pecans.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees 18 – 20 minutes in paper lined or greased muffin pan.

(Yields 15 muffins)

Leave a Reply

