Easy Chocolate Ice Cream

I ran out of chocolate ice cream so I needed to make more. I decided to try a different recipe. My cousin has been recommending this low-carb recipe for a while. I figured I’d give it a go and test it. She doesn’t have an ice cream maker so if you don’t have one either, then you’ll love this Easy Chocolate Ice Cream. That’s why I call it “easy” because you don’t need an ice cream maker at all! In fact, I highly recommend that you DO NOT use an ice cream maker. I did and it was a disaster!

This recipe is different because you use ricotta cheese. It sounds gross because why would you want cheese with chocolate? But, trust me, ricotta cheese gives this dessert a thick, creamy texture that is to die for! (This ice cream is based on a recipe I found on Healthy Indulgences.)

RECIPE

  • 1 cup of whole milk or part skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg yolk (Egg Beaters if you’re afraid of salmonella)
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • A splash of vanilla extract
  • Your choice of sugar-free sweetener to taste: 1 tbsp Stevia Extract or Splenda or 1/4 cup Agave Nectar depending on how sweet you like it.
  • 1 tbsp of vodka (*Optional: It’s supposed to make the ice cream “scoopable” when it’s frozen. I used Stolichnaya Vanilla Vodka – Hey, why not?)
  • 1/4 cup of coconut milk or heavy cream (*Optional: In case your ricotta is too dry.)

Blend all ingredients together in a blender or food processor until smooth**. If the ingredients are not blending well together and seems too “dry,” then pour the coconut milk or cream into the mixture until you get things moving. (NOTE: DO NOT OVERMIX. The ricotta cheese may start to separate.)

Pour the ice cream into a plastic tub with a lid and freeze for about an hour, stirring well every 20 minutes to break up the ice so it freezes properly. Serve as soon as it’s frozen enough. If you decide to eat your ice cream at a later time, leave it out for about 10 minutes to soften before serving, although I don’t suggest doing this. It changes the texture. Just eat it NOW! 🙂

(**If you would like to add nuts or chocolate shavings, mix them in with a spoon or spatula AFTER the mixture is smooth.)

I chose to eat my serving of chocolate ice cream with a couple slices of bananas and a big, sweet fresh strawberry making a mini-banana split. My cousin enjoys it with a spoonful of all-natural no-sugar-added peanut butter drizzled on top. Any way you eat it, it’s pure decadence!

2 thoughts on “Easy Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. I tried using an ice cream maker but it did not work. The mix is too thick and I ended with a chocolate mess that was too difficult to scrape out of my container.

Leave a Reply

