Flax Seed Focaccia Bread

Since cutting carbs out of my diet, what I have been missing sometimes are sandwiches, like grilled cheese or a turkey and avocado panini sandwich or even just a slice of bread with butter smeared on top. Sometimes I just miss BREAD! There really is no replacement. If I do eat bread, it has to be VERY GOOD BREAD. None of this sliced bread or enriched bread you buy at the grocery store. I’m talking sourdough roll or sweet French bread or a multi-grain baguette piping hot out of the oven. Then it would be worth being bad. Right?

My Swiss cousin sent me this recipe for gluten-free, low-carb Flax Seed Focaccia Bread. If she likes it, then I’ll probably like it too. After baking my bread, I took a bite and fell in love immediately. Then I had my husband try it. He said it was good and would like to know if he could have another slice. Sure! Then I had my kids try it. My 2-year old will eat just about anything, so maybe his opinion doesn’t count, however my persnickety 6-year old will snub her nose at crackers if they don’t meet her standards. Well, guess what? They both gobbled this stuff up! My daughter ate her slice AND the rest of my slice because she thought it was really delicious. I think I need to make more. 🙂

RECIPE

2 cups of flax seed meal
2 tbsp of blanched almond flour
1 tbsp of baking powder
1 tsp of salt
2 tbsp equivalent of sugar substitute (I used 2 tbsp of Stevia in the Raw, not extract.)
5 beaten eggs
1/2 cup of water
1/3 cup of olive oil

  1. Beat the eggs then throw the rest of the ingredients in with it.
  2. Let it sit for a couple minutes to thicken.
  3. Pour it onto a flat jelly-roll pan lined with parchment paper.
  4. Bake at 350˚F for 15-20 minutes or until it springs back to the touch.
  5. Eat as is, or cut into sizable squares to make sandwiches.

The bread comes out looking like one big flat bread. I used a pizza cutter to make my “slices.” If you’re not going to eat it all the same day, you will need to store your bread in an airtight container or a plastic bag and place it in the fridge, otherwise it will go bad fast. Put a couple slices in your toaster to reheat. It will still taste as good as when you baked it.

14 thoughts on “Flax Seed Focaccia Bread

  1. ive been looking for stevia recipes and i found your blog! 🙂
    what a treasure!!! 😉
    anyway i want to try this one, and im not sure how much stevia powder i should use.
    i have one from nunatural. can you tell me how much i use?
    thanks in advance =)

  2. Hi HJ!
    I’m glad you found me and I hope these recipes taste as delicious to you as they do to me.

    I haven’t made this bread with stevia powder but if I convert it (1/3 tsp = 1 tsp), then I’d say you need to use 2 tsp of extract powder to be equivalent to 2 tbsp of Stevia in the Raw.

    I actually do need to make more of this bread, so I will try it out with stevia powder.

    Good Luck and thanks for reading!

  3. Hi HJ,

    Just wanted to let you know that I made the bread again and I used 2 tsp of stevia powder. It came out exactly the same! Good bread. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Nut Butters! | Guilt-Free Goodies

  5. I was looking for a healthy low carb ‘bread’ and this caught my eye because you mentioned it was from a Swiss relative. My father was Swiss and it is engrained in us to think that Swiss is best (and it usually is!). I made it today and love it! I added some whole flax seeds also just because I like that texture. I had some with butter and no sugar added jam, and later had a chicken sandwich. Fabulous! I really appreciate this recipe..thank you so much!

  6. So great to hear this, Heidy! I love this bread too. I haven’t made it in a while and I was thinking about it lately. I think adding whole flax seed is fabulous. I think I will be doing just that for the next batch. Thanks!

  7. Hi! I’m Heidy’s sister, Sonja. (Good Swiss names, right?) I think this recipe is changing my life. 😉 We’ve had about 6 different versions in a few weeks. My two favorites so far involved adding a couple of tblsp of prepared pesto and garlic flavored olive oil…and then a sweeter loaf with a very ripe banana, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and walnuts. Awesome for breakfast. Thanks for sharing this very adaptable and healthy recipe with us!

  8. THAT’S EXCELLENT! I’ve been meaning to try adding other ingredients to this “base” to make different versions. I’m glad you beat me to it. 🙂 You can also form the dough into a circle and bake it, then use it as a pizza crust. (So you’ll have to bake it again.) I’m not sure about the bake time as I haven’t played with that yet. Thank you for sharing.

  9. Awesome! I will try that. Mmm. Pizza! Since it is so thick and stable texture-wise, I was thinking it might be able to spoon out circles on a parchment covered baking sheet for hamburger buns. That will be my next experiment. Could even sprinkle with sesame seeds? We also enjoyed your recipe with blackstrap molasses and pecans and extra vanilla stevia for a butterscotch brownie flavor as well as with apple butter and spices. Everything works with this recipe!

  10. You guys are awesome! I love that you have made so much with this. Keeps me inspired. Thank you!

  11. Pingback: Cinnamon Vanilla Flax Seed Bread | Guilt-Free Goodies

  12. Pingback: Browned Butter Scrambled Eggs | Guilt-Free Goodies

Leave a Reply

